Element 68Element 45Element 44Element 63Element 64Element 43Element 41Element 46Element 47Element 69Element 76Element 62Element 61Element 81Element 82Element 50Element 52Element 79Element 79Element 7Element 8Element 73Element 74Element 17Element 16Element 75Element 13Element 12Element 14Element 15Element 31Element 32Element 59Element 58Element 71Element 70Element 88Element 88Element 56Element 57Element 54Element 55Element 18Element 20Element 23Element 65Element 21Element 22iconsiconsElement 83iconsiconsiconsiconsiconsiconsiconsiconsiconsiconsiconsiconsiconsiconsiconsiconsiconsiconsiconsiconsiconsiconsiconsiconsiconsElement 84iconsiconsElement 36Element 35Element 1Element 27Element 28Element 30Element 29Element 24Element 25Element 2Element 1Element 66

Medien & Kommunikationswissenschaft [Media & Communication Studies]

Medien & Kommunikationswissenschaft [Media & Communication Studies] has an annual volume of approx. 600 pages and contains essays, reports, contributions to discussions, reviews, a list of current articles published in relevant journals, overviews of current new publications and dissertations written in the subject.
Since 2021, all articles and issues of Medien & Kommunikationswissenschaft are available online free of charge and open access at www.m-und-k.info.

The journal will also appear four times a year as a print version. The subscription prices for 2021 are as follows: Annual subscription (private) 115,-- €, for students (annual submission of a certificate of enrolment required) 63,-- €; institutional price 215,-- €; single issue 35,-- €.All prices include VAT, plus a share of distribution costs. You can cancel your subscription quarterly at the end of the year.  ISSN 1615-634X. Available from Nomos Verlagsgesellschaft, Waldseestr. 3-5, 76530 Baden-Baden, Germany, Tel.: (+49 7221) 2104-0, Fax: (+49 7221) 2104-27, E-Mail: [email protected]

Editorial Team

Prof. Dr. Joan Kristin Bleicher, Anja Herzog, Dr. Sascha Hölig, PD Dr. Matthias C. Kettemann, Dr. Claudia Lampert, Prof. Dr. Wiebke Lossen, Christiane Matzen, Dr. Jan-Hinrik Schmidt, Hermann-Dieter Schröder, Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Schulz, Dr. Hans-Ulrich Wagner and Dr. Gregor Wiedemann


Dr. Ulla Autenrieth (DGPuK-Division Visual Communication), Prof. Dr. Hans-Jürgen Bucher (DGPuK-Division Media Language – Media Discourse), Jun.-Prof. Christopher Buschow (DGPuK-Division Media Economics), Jun.-Prof. Dr. Emese Domahidi (DGPuK-Division Methods), Prof. Dr. Andreas Hepp (DGPuK-Division Sociology of Media and Communication), Jun.-Prof. Dr. Jessica Kunert (DGPuK-Division Media Sports und Sports Communication), Jun.-Prof. Dr. Anna Sophie Kümpel-Unkel (DGPuK-Division Media Reception and Effects), PD Dr. Merja Mahrt (DGPuK-Division Digital Communication), Prof. Dr. Jutta Milde (DGPuK-Division Science Communication), , Dr. Daniel Nölleke (DGPuK-Division Journalism Studies), Dr. Corinna Peil (ÖGK), Prof. Dr. Carola Richter (DGPuK-Division International and Intercultural Communication), Prof. Dr. Ulrike Röttger (DGPuK-Division Public Relations and Organisational Communications), Prof. Dr. Christian Schicha (DGPuK-Division Communication and Media Ethics), Dr. Christian Schwarzenegger (DGPuK-Division Communication History), Prof. Dr. Tanja Thomas (DGPuK-Division Media, Public Spheres and Gender), Dr. Anna Wagner (DGPuK-Division Health Communication), Dr. Ruth Wendt (DGPuK-Division Media Education), Prof. Dr. Vinzenz Wyss (SGKM) and Prof. Dr. Thomas Zerback (DGPuK-Division Communication and Politics).

Peer Review Procedure

The peer review process of the journal "Medien und Kommunikationswissenschaft M&K" corresponds to the peer reviewing procedure that has proven itself in scientific practice. Submitted manuscripts are anonymised by the editors upon receipt, so that the authors are unknown to all those involved in the review process as well as the members of the editorial board. The members of the advisory board (to which the divisions of the German Society for Journalism and Communication Studies [DGPuK] as well as the Swiss Society for Communication and Media Studies [SGKM] and the Austrian Society for Communication Studies [ÖGK] each send one person) will be informed by e-mail about the title and abstract of the anonymised manuscript. They will also be invited to make suggestions for reviewers, and may suggest themselves as reviewers.
Based on these and their own proposals, the editors will decide to whom the manuscript should be forwarded and which external reviewers should be consulted. The central selection criterion is the professional reputation and scientific expertise for the topic. As a rule, these are postdocs and professors, but occasionally we also ask doctoral students who are currently doing intensive research on a topic for their expertise. The final selection is the responsibility of the editors, because only they can assess, with the knowledge of the authors, whether there is too much proximity between the reviewers and those being reviewed. Other aspects also play a role, such as the desire to spread the work on as many shoulders as possible and, conversely, to give the community the widest possible opportunity to participate in the selection process.
As a rule, two external experts are consulted. In addition, one or two members of the editorial staff review the manuscript. This means that there are usually at least three votes on a manuscript. On this basis, the editorial board as a collegial body makes its decision on the acceptance of the manuscript or the recommendation of a revision or new submission. This decision is summarised in an editorial decision and sent to the authors together with the (also anonymised) reviews on which this decision is based. The external reviewers involved are also informed of the decision and the votes after the review process has been completed. The editors will attempt to carry out the review procedure within eight weeks of receipt of the manuscript. If this is not possible, the authors will be notified accordingly.
In general, all submissions will be required to provide an assurance that the manuscript is an original manuscript that has not yet been published elsewhere or submitted for publication.

show more


Subscribe to our newsletter and receive the Institute's latest news via email.